"Mia Pen Rai Cop"

Gary R. Hock

Joined Apr 30 2009
Send a Message
Add as Friend
Flag as Inappropriate
General Info

77 years old
Port Huron Township, Michigan 48060
Site Memberships

The 519th Transportation Association Thailand

About Me

I was drafted 1 Sept. 1965.  Went through Basic and AIT (Cook School) at Fort Knox, Kentucky. Reported to Oakland Army Terminal in February of 1966 for shipment to Thailand.  Arrived at Camp Friendship on 12 February 1966 with HHD 9 Log Command (B)  Upon in processing, found they did not need a cook and wanted to know if I could type, which I could, having taken that in school.  I became an OJT Finance Clerk.  In May of 1966 I was transfered to Camp Vayama in Sattahip.  I served there until February of 1967 when I went CONUS.  After 45 days leave, I reported to Headquarters and Headquarters Company United States Army Garrison, Fort Riley, Kansas.  I was separated from the Army on 31 August 1967 as a SP/5 E-5 and returned to Michigan.  I spent 12 years in a Paper Mill, 10 of which was as a Journeyman Electrician.  I then went to work for The Detroit Edison Company as a Journeyman Electrician for 25 years.  I retired on 1 June 2004.  At the present time I try to enjoy life as it comes.  I was married on 17 March 2007 for the second time.  My first wife of 36 years and 18 days died of Lung Cancer 30 Janurary of 2004.  My present wifes first husband died of Colon Cancer on 30 October 2003.  They had been married for 31 years.  The interesting thing is, they both died at 0825.  Believe it or not, we met on  and we live in the same town about 1 1/2 miles apart.  Life sure takes some funny turns sometimes.  I also have a 10 1/2 year old Yellow Lab. who has helped me through some of the rough spots the last few years.

Updated on  25 August 2011.

I had to put my friend of 12 1/2 years to rest on 12 July 2011.  Tough few days for me.  Had her cremated and she is now in my curio cabinet.

I sold my house and purchased a 2011 Ford F-350 Diesel Pickup and 39ft Big Country 5th Wheel, and travel as much as I can.  I'm currently in Suttons Bay, Michigan for 10 Days.  Spent most of last winter in Florida, and Alabama.  Going back to Alabama this Winter.  Gulf Shores, Alabama.

We still have a Condo in Michigan and Florida.


Updated on 3 February 2016.

The 3rd week of April 2013 I picked up a 2 1/2 yr. old AKC registered yellow Lab. I'm now back in the Lab business.

Spent the last 3 Winters in Gulf Shores, our 5th wheel trailer.  Will be there again this Winter.




My email address is   don't be a stranger.

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

You must be a member to comment on this page. Sign In or Register


Reply Terry W. Colvin
8:46 PM on February 6, 2016 
Hi Stranger ;,

Hi Gary,

Enjoyed reading your profile comments and the updates. I recall that you posted quite a bit on the list in
years past, not so much lately. If you see this then e-mail me at fortean1 at mindspring dot com. It seems
in the post area that e-mail addresses are stripped out.

Best wishes,

4:00 PM on May 7, 2009 
Hockster, I'm not sure yet. I've been browsing my profile and don't see how it got the ones in there in the first place. Maybe go to the FAQ page for and see if they have an answer posted. - Joe